Written for Free Cookies

Ardsheer Ali

May 21, 2011: I woke up to a terrifying scene. The downpour had turned into a torrent. People were trying to stay afloat above the water level. The strong gusts of wind were tearing the houses apart. Kids were shouting, screaming, yelling. The ground was breaking away, revealing the hot lava that would soon rise and engulf the whole world…

 

No, not that. I was kidding. I woke up to see trees shaking in the powerful wind. It was raining. I went out of the house, expecting terrified screams. But there were none. Even the houses were intact. Seeing all this, I concluded that the end of the world had been postponed.

 

But still, the whirlwinds and the heavy rain put a burning question in my mind. Surely, something had happened that had disturbed the balance of nature. Using the scientific brain that I don’t have, I presumed that the Light Civilization and the Water Civilization were at war again. I was just itching to see Alcaedias and his Angel Commands fight against Legendary Bynor and his Leviathans. I waited for a long time (and in that time, I gave my itch some Dermicool Powder. Itches love Dermicool Powder), but I couldn’t even see a Mecha Thunder, let alone the Angel Commands. Then, out of nowhere, I heard a shriek: “GIAAAAAAAAAA!!1!!one!!1!” All of a sudden, I realized that the Light Civilization wasn’t at war with the Water Civilization. The disturbance had been created by a legendary Pokemon: Lugia.

 

This legendary bird was extremely rare. And I just had to catch it. Struggling against the wind, I went to the nearest mart. I bought 10 Poke Balls, 10 Great Balls, 10 Ultra Balls, 1 Cricket Ball, 2 McVeggies(without cheese), a packet of French Fries, and an Ice Tea. Surely, these were all that I needed to catch the Lugia(some things were for my personal use, btw).

 

I went back home with the supplies, and straight into my room. Taking out my Master Key, I unlocked the drawer that hadn’t been opened since the last time Man United won a game without buying the ref. Inside were 6 Poke Balls, containing the strongest Pokemon that I had caught in my whole life. I had saved them for a day like this. Attaching the 6 balls to my belt, I went up to the roof, ready to catch Lugia.

 

As soon as I was on the roof, I could see a shadow of a bird hovering high above. With all my courage, I shouted, “Hey you!” The shadow looked down on me, and I could see its eyes flashing. It descended, and I could see more than a silhouette. To my surprise, it wasn’t a skylark. “Aw shucks,” I groaned and went back inside the house.

 

Um, that didn’t happen. As soon as I saw the bird, I was awestruck. It was HUGE, almost as big as Kane. It landed a few paces away from me, giving me an ice cold look. I don’t mind telling you, I was terrified. But with my six amazing Pokemon, I felt a little confident. The battle commenced as I sent out my first Pokemon: Metapod.

 

“Met-aa,” said the Metapod as it landed in front of Lugia. “Okay Metapod, use Harden!” I ordered. Metapod did as told, and it’s defence rose. “AWWWWW YEEEEAAAAHHH,” I said, with a fist pump. Lugia looked at it, bewildered. “LUGIA?!” it said, confused. But the sound was so loud and horrifying, that Metapod quickly evolved into a Butterfree and flew away at supersonic speed.

 

Groaning, I sent out my second Pokemon: Pichu. Pichu came out of its ball, and winked. “Pichu,” it said, smiling. But seeing the size of Lugia, it created a lightning wave. Then it sat on the bolt, and raced away, while the music of Metallica’s ‘Ride The Lightning’ played in the background.

 

Dammit, Lugia had defeated two of my Super Six Pokemon with ease. I decided to send out Charmander. It came out and answered the question ‘2+2’ in Hindi. It looked at Lugia and tried to hide its fear. Lugia, unamused, blew the fire off Charmander’s tail. He started crying, and like the others, ran away.

 

“Let’s take the battle to a higher level,” I said, and sent out Weedle. I had high hopes from this little guy. His Poison Sting and Tackle attacks caused a lot of damage. “Use Tackle!” I shouted. Weedle took a step back, and lunged straight towards Lugia’s face. Lugia opened its mouth, and in went the little worm. Lugia let out a large burp. “OH SHIT! Did I switch off the oven?” I screamed out loud, trying to mask the horror of losing 4 Pokemon so quickly.

 

I sent out my fifth Pokemon: Diglett. Personally, he was my favourite. I loved him because he was sooo underground. However, as soon as he got out and saw Lugia, he dug a really deep hole and buried himself in it. Also, an R.I.P. sign came to rest upon his grave.

 

I was down to my last Pokemon. But this one was the strongest I ever had. I don’t remember what all I had done to catch this one. Taking a deep breath, I sent out…Magikarp. 

 

Lugia vs Magikarp. The Battle of the Champions. The battle that could change the fate of the world. I was so damn excited. I had a feeling that Lugia was soon going to be in a Poke Ball upon my desk. But suddenly, Aarman Roy climbed onto the roof with a matchstick and frying pan in his hands. He picked up my Magikarp, set the matchstick on fire, and fried away my Magikarp. And in a moment of wantonness, I saw my best Pokemon go into Aarman’s mouth. He licked his lips, and went away. Wotta rascal.

 

I could only gaze at Lugia as it took off. One flap of its wings and I was sent flying over the roof boundary, and hurtling down into the mud. Inspite of all this, it was a great experience. To be honest, I never thought I’d ever see a Lugia. Being just a few metres away from it was astounding. I picked myself up off the ground, went back inside the house; and back into the melancholic everyday life.

Leave a comment